Frequently Asked Questions

Please select a category to view Frequently Asked Questions



Most Viewed FAQs

You should wash your hands for a minimum of 20 seconds using soap and water.  An easy way to “time” your hand washing is to sing the “happy birthday song twice.

This video is a good illustration of the proper handwashing technique.

Source:  CDC, David Gravelle

05/08/2020 - 14:11

There is currently no vaccine to prevent COVID-19. Although scientists are currently working on a vaccine, the process is complex and could take months or years. The best way to prevent illness is to avoid being exposed to this virus and taking measures to protect yourself.

04/10/2020 - 19:54

This is a legally enforceable order issued under California law. It is a crime to violate this Order, and you may be punished by a fine or imprisonment for doing so.

04/10/2020 - 21:34

Most healthcare providers offer testing to patients who meet testing criteria. Anyone needing testing can start by reaching out to their primary care provider.

Marin Public Health has issued new guidance to all healthcare providers expanding the criteria for testing for the virus.

Find a Testing Location

There are multiple testing options county-wide. If you are not able to obtain testing through your medical provider, free confidential testing is available in Marin and the Bay Area. Search for your nearest testing location by zipcode.

Testing for Underserved Communities

The State of California has joined with County of Marin and OptumServe to expand testing for underserved communities.  A dedicated testing site is available in San Rafael by appointment only.  Make an appointment at https://lhi.care/covidtesting. If you do not have internet access, call: 1-888-634-1123. This site is open to uninsured, underinsured, undocumented and homeless individuals. If you have medical insurance, OptumServe will bill your insurance company. Tests for uninsured individuals will be paid for by the state. 

 

Patients who are tested must self-quarantine pending results of their test. If someone tests positive for COVID-19, Marin County Public Health will instruct close contacts (typically household) to remain at home for 14 days after their last exposure.  Close contact is defined as being within approximately 6 feet of a COVID-19 case for at least 10 minutes or having direct contact with infectious COVID-19 secretions.

Learn more about COVID-19 testing in Marin County by visiting our Testing Information webpage.

05/19/2020 - 09:27

If you feel sick, even after a negative test result, you should take precautions, including isolating yourself in order to protect others.

 

CDC expects that widespread U.S. transmission of COVID-19. In the coming months, most of the U.S. population will be exposed to this virus. You should continue to practice all the protective measures recommended to keep yourself and others free from illness. See “How to Protect Yourself” on the CDC website.

04/10/2020 - 21:11